Caf unveils 10-man shortlist for African Footballer of the Year award

Caf has published the shortlist for the 2012 African Footballer of the Year award composed of 10 players, including current holder, Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure.

The five nominees for the domestic-based African on the continent were also released alongside other categories for which winners will be announced at the Awards Gala scheduled to take place in Ghana on December 20.

Three Ivorians including Yaya Toure, Gervinho of Arsenal and two-time winner Didier Drogba feature on the list after their contributions to their country’s run to the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations final.

The former Chelsea striker also starred in the Blues’ Champions League triumph, having scored the equalsing goal and the winning penalty in the showpiece against Bayern Munich.

Ghana’s Andre Ayew, who was in the final trio last year, had a worthwhile 2011-12 season, scoring 16 goals for Marseille, also starred in Afcon as the Black Stars made the semi-final stage.

As widely expected, Zambia captain Christopher Katongo made the list, for leading his side to their first Continental title and for his role in the Chipolopolo‘s recent qualification for the 2013 tournament.

Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Newcastle’s Demba Ba of Senegal and Moroccan star Younes Belhanda were included for their efforts at club and national team levels, while Barcelona’s Alex Song was picked for contributing to Arsenal’s impressive end to the Premier League last season.

Nigeria’s John Obi Mikel was vital to Chelsea’s success in winning the Champions League and FA Cup double last season.

Shortlist for the 2012 African Footballer of the Year award in alphabetical order

Alexandre Song, Cameroon

Andre Ayew, Ghana

Christopher Katongo, Zambia

Demba Ba, Senegal

Didier Drogba, Cote D’Ivoire

Gervinho, Cote D’Ivoire

John Obi Mikel, Nigeria

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Gabon

Yaya Toure, Cote D’Ivoire

Younes Belhanda, Morocco

Shortlist for African Player of the Year based in Africa

Mohamed Aboutreika, Egypt

Rainford Kalaba, Zambia

Stoppila Sunzu, Zambia

Yannick N’Djeng, Cameroon

Youssef Msakni, Tunisia

Other Awards categories

1. National Team of the Year

2. Women’s Footballer of the Year

3. Women’s National Team of the Year

4. Club of the Year

5. Most Promising Talent of the Year

6. Coach of the Year

7. Referee of the Year

8. Legend Award

9. Fair Play Award

10. Platinum Award

11. Africa Finest XI

The above shortlists, which were decided by Caf’s technical, football and media committees, will now be passed on to head coaches and technical directors from Caf member associations who will vote to decide the eventual winners. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *